Theme 4: Occupation of territories by foreign companies: impacts on local populations

The launch videoconference for Discussion 4 will take place on January 31, 2023, and the closing videoconference on March 7, 2023. Regional discussions will be held on the same theme throughout the month of February. The Zoom login link will be available on this page one week before the conference starts.

There is no need to register. The videoconferences are simultaneously translated into 4 languages: French/English/Spanish and Portuguese.

Debates about land grabs by foreign companies in Brazil have increased in recent years. These land grabs have an impact on food sovereignty, the environment and the security and rights of peasant, forest and fishing populations.

In order to feed the profits of large national and/or international companies, they do not hesitate to commit fraud in order to grab public land, most often with the connivance of local private or public actors. Land grabbing and concentration lead to overexploitation of natural resources, agrarian conflicts and forced population displacement.

According to official government data (IBGE/2017), the structure of land ownership in Brazil remains concentrated. According to the data, the country has 5,073,324 agricultural establishments. Of these establishments, 51,203 have an area greater than 1,000 hectares, which represents only 1% of the total number of establishments, but occupies 47% of the land used by agricultural establishments; the remaining 99% of establishments occupy 53% of agricultural land. In all, family farming, with its more than 10 million workers, has only 23% of the agricultural land.

According to data from INCRA (Brazil's land agency), in 2020 about 3.9 million hectares of land are registered in the country as foreign property, of which 2.2 million were acquired by individuals and 1.7 million are controlled by companies. Of note is the purchase of 750,000 hectares by the Harvard University Fund and TIAA-CREF (a US insurance and investment fund company), through fraud or legal trickery using the names of Brazilian companies, verified by INCRA in 2020.

According to an article published by the newspaper Brasil de Fato, foreign-controlled land in Brazil is distributed as follows: 33% in the Southeast region, 22% in the Midwest region, 16% in the Northeast region, 15% in the South region and 14% in the North region.

In 2020, Brazil recorded records in terms of environmental devastation, fires and a significant advance in the destruction of protected areas. More than 3.4 thousand Km² of Amazonian forest disappeared during the second half of the year in 2020 (DETER/INPE, 2020). Approximately 1,576 cases of land conflicts, affecting more than 171,000 Brazilian families, were registered in the same year (CPT, 2021).

Also in 2020, the federal Senate approved bill 2.963/2019 - currently under discussion in the House of Representatives -, which relaxes rules and reduces restrictions and allows foreigners to buy up to 25% of the territory of Brazilian municipalities. The argument used to justify this law is to attract foreign investment to the country. If this law were to be passed, it would pose a direct threat to the national sovereignty and security of family farmers, peasants, indigenous, quilombola and traditional populations in Brazil, leading to a significant increase in food insecurity, inequality and conflicts already existing in rural areas.

CONTAG and its partner social movements have carried out a series of actions at national and local level, denouncing and liaising with social and parliamentary organisations in order to define strategies for fighting and combating the occupation of national territory and the violation of the rights of rural, forest and aquatic populations by foreign companies.

The 4th round of the Global Forum of Struggles for Land and Natural Resources, coordinated by CONTAG, aims to inform and report on the reality in Brazil. This discussion will allow an exchange between organisations from different regions and continents in order to propose strategies to fight against the expansion of foreign companies and international capital.

Thème 4 : Occupation de territoires par des entreprises étrangères : impacts sur les populations locales

Nous devons malheureusement ANNULER la visioconférence de lancement de la discussion 4 prévue le 5 juillet pour des raisons techniques. Nous reviendrons prochainement vers vous avec de nouvelles dates.

Il n’y a pas besoin de s’inscrire. Les visioconférences sont traduites simultanément en 4 langues : français/anglais/espagnol et portugais.

Les débats concernant des accaparements de terres par des entreprises étrangères au Brésil se sont multipliés ces dernières années. En effet, ces accaparements ont un impact sur la souveraineté alimentaire, l’environnement et la sécurité et les droits des populations paysannes, forestières et celles qui vivent de la pêche.

Pour alimenter les profits des grandes entreprises nationales et/ou internationales, celles-ci n’hésitent pas à frauder pour s’accaparer des terres publiques, le plus souvent avec la connivence d’acteurs privés ou publics locaux. L’accaparement et la concentration des terres provoquent une surexploitation des ressources naturelles, des conflits agraires et des déplacements forcés de population.

Selon les données officielles du gouvernement (IBGE/2017), la structure de la propriété foncière au Brésil reste concentrée. Selon les données, le pays compte 5 073 324 établissements agricoles. Parmi ces établissements, 51 203 ont une superficie supérieure à 1 000 hectares, ce qui ne représente que 1% du nombre total d’établissements, mais occupe 47% du territoire national ; les 99% d’établissements restants occupent 53% du territoire national.

Selon les données de l’INCRA (l’agence foncière du Brésil), en 2020, environ 3,9 millions d’hectares de terres sont enregistrés dans le pays en tant que propriété étrangère, dont 2,2 millions ont été acquis par des particuliers et 1,7 million sont contrôlés par des entreprises. Il convient de souligner l’achat de 750 000 hectares par le fonds de l’université de Harvard et par TIAA-CREF (entreprise d’assurance et de Fonds de placement américaine), par le biais d’une fraude ou d’une astuce juridique utilisant le nom d’entreprises brésiliennes, vérifié par l’INCRA en 2020.

En outre, le recensement agricole de 2017 souligne qu’environ 10 % de la superficie totale du territoire national est déjà détenue par des entreprises privées. Selon un article publié par le journal Brasil de Fato, les terres contrôlées par des étrangers au Brésil sont réparties comme suit : 33% dans la région du Sud-Est, 22% dans la région du Midwest, 16% dans la région du Nord-Est, 15% dans la région du Sud et 14% dans la région du Nord.

En 2020, le Brésil a enregistré des records en terme de dévastation environnementale, incendies et une avancée significative dans la destruction des zones protégées. Plus de 3,4 mille Km² de la forêt amazonienne ont disparu au cours de la seconde moitié de l’année en 2020 (DETER/INPE, 2020). Environ 1 576 cas de conflits fonciers, affectant plus de 171 000 familles brésiliennes, ont été enregistrés la même année (CPT, 2021).

Toujours en 2020, le Sénat fédéral a approuvé le projet de loi 2.963/2019 – actuellement en discussion à la Chambre des représentants -, qui assouplit les règles et réduit les restrictions et autorise l’achat par des étrangers de jusqu’à 25 % du territoire des municipalités brésiliennes. Pour justifier cette loi, l’argument utilisé est celui d’attirer les investissements étrangers dans le pays. Si cette loi devait être approuvée par le Sénat, cela constituerait une menace directe pour la souveraineté nationale et la sécurité des agriculteurs familiaux, des paysans, des populations indigènes, quilombolas et traditionnelles du Brésil, entraînant une augmentation significative de l’insécurité alimentaire, des inégalités et des conflits déjà existants dans les zones rurales.

La CONTAG et les mouvements sociaux partenaires ont mené une série d’actions aux niveaux national et local, de dénonciations et de liaison avec les organisations sociales et parlementaires pour définir des stratégies de lutte et de combat contre l’occupation du territoire national et la violation des droits des populations rurales, forestières et aquatiques par les entreprises étrangères.

Le 4e cycle de débats du Forum mondial des luttes pour la terre et les ressources naturelles, coordonné par la CONTAG, vise à informer et rendre compte de la réalité au Brésil. Cette discussion permettra d’échanger entre organisations issues de régions et de continents différents afin de proposer des stratégies pour lutter contre l’expansion des entreprises étrangères et du capital international.